Monday, April 21, 2014 5:15 PM EST

Mexico

Often called "the fifth BRIC nation", Mexico is a major emerging economy. But the country is also plagued by rampant criminal organizations. The deadly fighting between government forces and the heavily armed gangsters of the drug cartels is growing dimensions like a civil war.

Articles About Mexico

Motorola Budget Smartphone Moto E Specifications Leak; Tipped Debut in May
Motorola Budget Smartphone Moto E Specifications Leak; Tipped to Debut in May

By IBTimes IN

American smartphone firm Motorola made a remarkable comeback to the market last year, with the feature-rich Moto X and Moto G devices, and now the company is tipped to launch a new Moto E series handset next month. (6:26 pm)

MORE TOPICS: INDIA, SMARTPHONE, ANDROID

The statue of Jesus lying in the tomb (Monastery of San Joaquín y Santa Ana, Valladolid)  (Photo: Wikimemdia Commons)
Holy Saturday 2014: 7 Interesting Facts about Easter Eve

By IBTimes IN

Holy Saturday 2014: Here are 7 unique and interesting facts about Saturday before Easter aka Easter Eve, Easter Even or Black Saturday. (Apr 19)

MORE TOPICS: CALIFORNIA, AUSTRALIA, LOS ANGELES, SILVER

Gabriel Marquez
Gabriel Garcia Marquez: Death of the Magic Story Teller, World Reactions, Top 5 Works and Top 10 Quotes

By IBTimes IN

Nobel Laureate Gabriel Garcia Marquez dies at the age of 87, but his magic survives. (Apr 18)

MORE TOPICS: BARACK OBAMA, THE NEW YORK TIMES, NEW YORK, NOBEL PRIZE, CANCER

File photo of Colombian Nobel Prize laureate Garcia Marquez waving at reporters in San Vicente del Caguan
Nobel Winner Garcia Marquez, Master of Magical Realism, Dies at 87

By Reuters

Gabriel Garcia Marquez, the Colombian author whose beguiling stories of love and longing brought Latin America to life for millions of readers, died on Thursday. He was 87. (Apr 18)

MORE TOPICS: BARACK OBAMA, STORM, NEW YORK, CUBA, NOBEL PRIZE, CANCER

Model Heidi Klum arrives at the 2014 People's Choice Awards in Los Angeles
Heidi Klum Bares It All for Younger Boyfriend Vito Schnabel, Goes Topless In a Mexico Beach

By IBTimes AU

Hedi Klum and Vito Schnabel have fun under the sun, with supermodel going topless. (Apr 17)

MORE TOPICS: HOLLYWOOD, SILVER

Scientists Explore Gulf of Mexico’s Deep Sea Floor: NOAA to Live Stream Online (Representational Image) [Wikimedia Commons/Betty]
Scientists Explore Gulf of Mexico’s Deep Seafloor: NOAA to Live Stream Online

By IBTimes IN

Researchers have invited civilians to watch the Gulf of Mexico's seafloor online as divers explore the strange ecosystem comprising of chemicals instead of sunlight. (Apr 16)

World Cup 2014: A Guide to Fortaleza

By IBTimes AU

Fortaleza is the capital of Ceará. It is one of the most important and the largest cities of Brazil. (Apr 16)

MORE TOPICS: GERMANY, GHANA

Boxer Manny Pacquiao of the Philippines smiles during a news conference in New York August 6, 2013. Pacquiao will fight Brandon Rios of the U.S. in a welterweight match at the Venetian Macao in Macau on November 24. REUTERS/SHANNON STAPLETON
Boxing News 2014: Did Manny Pacquiao Use Illegal Handwraps? Top-3 Most Notorious Cheaters in Sport

By IBTimes AU

Manny Pacquiao successfully recaptured the WBO welterweight championship belt on Saturday with a 12-round demolition of previously undefeated Timothy Bradley at MGM Grand Garden in Las Vegas, Nevada. Pacman's victory was simply clinical, launchi... (Apr 16)

MORE TOPICS: TWITTER, FACEBOOK

A combination photo shows the moon during a total lunar eclipse as seen from Mexico City (Reuters)
Total Lunar Eclipse 2014: Stunning Images of the Rare ‘Blood Moon’ [PHOTOS]

By IBTimes IN

The first eclipse of 2014 was clearly visible in most parts of N. America, Latin America and the Caribbean. Residents could watch the red moon in different phases between 2 am EDT(6 am GMT, 11:30 am IST) and 4:30 am EDT (8:30 am GMT, 2 pm IST). (Apr 15)

MORE TOPICS: LOS ANGELES

Obama's health secretary resigns after Obamacare launch woes
Obama's Health Secretary Resigns after Obamacare Launch Woes

By Reuters

U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius is resigning after overseeing the botched rollout of President Barack Obama's signature healthcare reforms, a White House official said on Thursday. (Apr 11)

MORE TOPICS: WAL-MART, WHITE HOUSE, ELECTIONS, THE NEW YORK TIMES, NEW YORK, MANAGEMENT