Samir Nasri's Girlfriend Anara Atanes Slams Didier Deschamps and France National Team on Twitter

Model is upset over World Cup selection snub
By on

As more and more teams release their provisional World Cup squads, it can only be expected that not everyone will be happy with the selections. Ashley Cole from England already announced his retirement from international football after learning of his exclusion but was otherwise supportive of the team. Others are not as gracious.

When the provisional squad for France was announced, Manchester City star Samir Nasri was left out and his girlfriend, model Anara Atanes was not pleased. Actually, she was furious. Only hours after the list was made public, she launched into an online attack via Twitter targeted at France Team Manager Didier Deschamps and the national team:

Nasri was reportedly omitted from France's squad for disciplinary reasons, stemming from the team's Euro 2012 campaign. When France was eliminated from that tournament, he launched into an expletive-laden rant at reporters. Nasri scored the winner in Manchester City's Capital One Cup final and the Premier League title-clinching goal against West Ham United on Sunday.  

Samir Nasri himself, however was a lot calmer and replied to his girlfriend:


Goalkeepers: Mickael Landreau (Bastia), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Steve Mandanda (Marseille)

Defenders: Mathieu Debuchy (Newcastle), Lucas Digne (Paris St Germain), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Eliaquím Mangala (Porto), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Mamadou Sakho (Liverpool), Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Yohan Cabaye (Paris St Germain), Clement Grenier (Lyon), Blaise Matuidi (Paris St Germain), Rio Mavuba (Lille), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle), Mathieu Valbuena (Marseille)

Forwards: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Antoine Griezmann (Real Sociedad), Loïc Rémy (Newcastle), Franck Ribéry (Bayern Munich).

Reserves: Remy Cabella (Montpellier), Maxime Gonalons (Lyon), Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon), Loic Perrin (St Etienne), Stephane Ruffier (St Etienne), Morgan Schneiderlin (Southampton), Benedict Tremoulinas (St Etienne).

Join the Discussion