NHL Awards 2014 Winners

By on

Hockey teams and players shined bright at the National Hockey League (NHL) Awards 2014 held at Pittsburgh Penguins Center, Las Vegas, Nevada. The yearly award aimed to recognise key players and teams in the league who have shown tremendous talents.

According to the NHL press releases, Sidney Crosby of Pittsburgh Penguins took home the Hart Memorial Trophy. Sidney proved to be the most valuable player. He was selected from the poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in all NHL cities at the end of the regular season.

At the same time, Sidney Crosby also garnered the Ted Lindsay Award. This award was previously called Lester B. Pearson Award. His fellow members of the NHL Players' Association voted for him to receive this "most outstanding player" award.

Duncan Keith of Chicago Blackhawks received the James Norris Memorial Trophy. With this award, Duncan proved he was the defense player with the greatest all-round ability in the defense position all throughout the season.

Tuukka Rask of Boston Bruins secured the Vezina Trophy. His award as the goalkeeper with the best ability for this position was as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs.

Meanwhile, Patrick Roy of Colorado Avalanche garnered the Jack Adams Award. With this award, presented to him by the NHL Broadcasters' Association, Patrick Roy proved he has contributed the most to his team's success as NHL coach.

For the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, Dominic Moore of New York Rangers secured the award. The winner for this annual award is chosen by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. With this award, Dominic Moore proved that he exemplified best the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

For the Calder Memorial Trophy, Nathan MacKinnon of Colorado Avalanche brought home the award. Nathan MacKinnon showed the most proficiency during his first year of competition in the NHL.

Meanwhile, Patrice Bergeron of Boston Bruins secured the Frank J. Selke Trophy. With this award, Patrice Bergeron proved, that as a forward, he excelled best in the defensive aspects of the hockey game.

For the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, Ryan O'Reilly also of Colorado Avalanche got the award. He exhibited not only a high standard of playing ability but also the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct in the sport.

Dustin Brown of Los Angeles Kings received the Mark Messier Leadership Award. This award was presented by Bridgestone. With this award, Dustin Brown had exemplified great leadership qualities to his team during the regular season both on and off the ice.

Patrice Bergeron of Boston Bruins took home the NHL Foundation Player Award. With this award, Patrick Bergeron showed he applied the core values of ice hockey—commitment, perseverance and teamwork—to enrich people's lives in his community.

Finally, Bob Murray of Anaheim Ducks brought home the NHL General Manager of the Year Award.

Also Read:

Viral Video Using Go Pro Camera: 'Longest Jump Story' [Watch YouTube Clip]

Isaiah Austin Suffers From Marfan Syndrome: Know More About the Disease

Beats by Dr. Dre Spotlights 'The Game Before the Game' World Cup Ad as First Project on Apple [Watch YouTube Video]

Join the Discussion