Mourning, Richmond Elected to Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame

By on

Two NBA legends, Alonzo Mourning and Mitch Richmond were elected to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame leading a few others who will be recognized for their contribution to the sport. Also voted in on Monday are former coaches Nolan Richardson, Gary Williams and the Immaculata University’s AIAW National Championship.

The new batch will join the previous inductees who were directly elected including retired NBA commissioner David Stern, Bob Leonard, Nat Clifton, Sarunas Marciulionis and Guy Rodgers.

The Class of 2014 will be enshrined on August 8th, 2014 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

“It is an honor for us to welcome this highly-esteemed Class of 2014 into the Basketball Hall of Fame,” said President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame John L. Doleva.

“Each inductee has made great strides in the sport and serves as an inspiration to many. We look forward to honoring each of these well-deserving members during the Enshrinement Ceremonies.”

Mourning and Richmond were two of the best players in their respective positions during their prime in the NBA.

Mourning was named an NBA All-Star seven times and awarded the NBA Defensive Player of the Year twice in a 15-year NBA career. He won the title with the Miami Heat in 2005 and his No. 33 jersey was retired by the franchise on March 30th, 2009.

Mourning averaged 17.1 points, 8.5 rebounds, 2.8 blocked shots in his NBA career to become the Heat’s all-time leader in blocked shots (2,558), total rebounds (4,807), double-doubles (205), field goals made (3,445) and games played (593).

Mourning also played for the Charlotte Hornets, the team that drafted him in 1992, and the New Jersey Nets. He attended Georgetown in college.

Richmond is a six-time NBA All-Star and was considered one of the best scorers in his era. He played for the Golden State Warriors, which drafted him in 1988, Sacramento Kings, Washington Wizards and Los Angeles Lakers, where he won a championship in 2002.

Richardson led Arkansas to the NCAA title in 1984 and to the Final Four in 1990 and 1995 while Williams towed Maryland to the NCAA championship in 2002 and 11 straight NCAA tournament appearances. Immaculata College won three straight national championships in the 1970s.

Join the Discussion