Four Silvers for Australian Cyclists in Glasgow

By on

Australia has walked away from the second leg of the UCI Track Cycling World Series in Glasgow with four silver medals.

In an exciting women's omnium, Olympic and World Omnium champion Laura Trott snatched the gold medal from Sydney's Ashlee Ankudinoff (Australia) in the final heat of the day.

Going into the sixth and final event of the omnium, the 500m Time Trial, Ankudinoff lead the Brit by two points, with Trott needing to place two spots higher than the Australian in order to secure gold.

And in an impressive final ride, Trott didn't disappoint the large crowd at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome, taking victory over Tamara Balabolina who collected the bronze for Russia.

In a dramatic men's keirin, Team Jayco-AIS rider Peter Lewis claimed the silver medal in a crash-marred final.

After a false start by Japan's rider Takashi Sakamoto, a faulty gun and a few issues with the derny, Lewis took the advantage at the front with favourite Jason Kenny close behind. When the derny left the track, it was on between Kenny and German rider Stefan Boetticher and heading into the final lap, it appeared the winner would come from the jostling duo.

Inside the final lap however, a collision between Kenny and Boetticher saw Kenny crash out along with France's Quentin Lafargue, leaving Boetticher to take the gold ahead of Lewis and Sakamoto.

Proudly sporting his rainbow jersey, reigning world champion Glenn O'Shea took silver in the men's omnium behind Germany's Lucas Liss. Spain's Unai Elorriaga Zubiaur took the bronze.

South Australia's Glenn O'Shea claimed victory in the points race and top three placings in the flying lap, individual pursuit, time trial and elimination race.

Heading into the final event of the Omnium, the time trial, only two points separated the top three with Liss holding on to his lead and securing the gold medal with victory ahead of O'Shea.

In the women's team pursuit, it was a close tussle between the track cycling powerhouses of Australia and Great Britain.

It was neck and neck over the first few laps, with the Australia trio of Ankudinoff, Amy Cure and Melissa Hoskins matching it against the Great Britain trio which featured two of the Olympic gold medal winning squad in Laura Trott and Dani King.

The experience and strength of the Great Britain was just too good, pulling away at the later stages before maintaining their advantage to the finish line to post a time of 3:21.043, just under a second ahead of Australia (3:22.026). Bronze went to Belarus (3:25.737).

The next leg of the UCI Track Cycling World Cup will be held in Aguascalientes, Mexico in January.

Cycling Australia

Join the Discussion