Floyd Mayweather Voted As BWAA Fighter Of the Year

By on
Floyd Mayweather
Boxing champion Floyd Mayweather Jr smiles as he greets fans and amateur boxers during a visit to conduct training clinics in Soweto [Reuters/SIPHIWE SIBEKO] Reuters

The Boxing Writers Association of America (BWAA) has named Floyd Mayweather Jr. "Fighter of the Year."

This was the second time Mayweather has won the award. He was first regognized in 2007. The BWAA announced the Sugar Ray Robinson "Fighter of the Year" on Tuesday, ESPN reported.

Boxing champion Floyd Mayweather Jr smiles as he greets fans and amateur boxers during a visit to conduct training clinics in Soweto [Reuters/SIPHIWE SIBEKO]

"It is a great honor to be voted by the BWAA as fighter of the year," Mayweather told ESPN.

"To be recognized by this organization is special and I truly appreciate it," he added. He also commended the other contenders who made it on the selection and the other winners.

Mayweather fought twice in 2013 and 2007 when he first won the award. He fought and triumphed over Oscar De La Hoya and Ricky Hatton in 2007. In 2013, he has fortified his entitlement to win the award after he has beaten Robert "The Ghost" Guerrero and Saul "Canelo" Alvarez.

He has remained unbeaten all throughout his professional boxing career, which makes him even more worthy of the coveted prize. Also, his fight against Alvarez has broken records in terms of pay-per-view revenue amounting to $150 million.

"I have dedicated my whole career to being the best and because of that I have been on top for 17 years," Mayweather said.

"Hard work and dedication got me there and awards like these help keep me there too," Mayweather said.

"On behalf of myself and the entire Money Team, I thank you very much," he noted.

Mayweather's Manager Al Haymon snagged the Cus D'Amato Manager of the Year Award. The BWAA didn't fail to notice Haymon's managerial skills in 2013. Aside from Mayweather, Hayman has handled Marcos Maidana, Danny Garcia, Adrien Broner, Devon Alexander, and Shawn Porter, to name a few.

The epic battle between Timothy Bradley and Ruslan Provodnikov was voted as the Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier Fight of the Year. Bradley was ecstatic after he found out.

"I gotta give major props to Ruslan Provodnikov for bringing the best out of me," Bradley said. "I hope that all the fans really appreciated that night," he added.

Freddie Roach won the Futch Trainer of the Year Award for a record-breaking six times. Roach first received the award in 2003, then in 2006, 2008, 2009 and 2010.

The winners of BWAA awards will be honored in a ceremony which will be announced soon.


Floyd Mayweather Did Not Bet $10M On Denver Broncos To Beat Seattle Sea Hawks On Super Bowl Sunday

Floyd Mayweather Tweets Support for Pal Justin Bieber

Floyd Mayweather Pulled Off His Dance Moves With the Locals During South Africa Trip

Boxing News: Floyd Mayweather Hints a Few Details on Identity of Next Opponent; More Details on Potential Clash vs Manny Pacquiao Fight

Join the Discussion