England Squad for 2014 FIFA World Cup Announced

By @snksounak on
England's national soccer team player Rooney attends a training session in Almancil
England's national soccer team player Wayne Rooney attends a training session in Almancil, near Faro May 21, 2014. The England national soccer team will be in Portugal until May 25 in preparation for the upcoming World Cup. The 2014 World Cup will be held in 12 cities in Brazil from June 12 to July 13. REUTERS/Rafael Marchante

England has revealed its squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup to be played in Brazil.

The tournament will kick off on June 12 when the hosting nation will clash against Croatia at Arena de Sao Paulo. However, England's first match in the tournament is expected to be a cracker as Roy Hodgson's squad will play against one of the strongest teams in the competition, Italy. England happens to be in quite a competitive group this time. Group D consists of strong teams: Uruguay, Costa Rica, Italy and England. [Download the complete printable schedule HERE]

Steven Gerrard, the captain of the squad, is going to flaunt no.4 on his shirt in the tournament. The Daily Mail reported that Wayne Rooney would wear the no. 10 jersey, which is often given to the best player in the team. Diego Maradona and Lionel Messi for Argentina, Pele and Ronaldinho for Brazil, Roberto Baggio for Italy, Michel Platini and Zinedine Zidane for France are some of the most iconic no. 10 players.

The England World Cup squad is present in Portugal. Hodgson chose the luxurious resort Vale do Lobo for the pre-World Cup training camp. Even though the British manager might have chosen the spot to help his players get accustomed to conditions similar to what they would find in the Latin American country. However, the south-Portuguese resort has hardly seen temperature go over 150C. In addition to that, there was a strong cold wind during the first training session, The Independent reported.

Here is the complete list of the England squad (in order of the jersey number) for the World Cup 2014:

1. Joe Hart

2. Glen Johnson

3. Leighton Baines

4. Steven Gerrard

5. Gary Cahill

6. Phil Jagielka

7. Jack Wilshere

8. Frank Lampard

9. Daniel Sturridge

10. Wayne Rooney

11. Daniel Welbeck

12. Chris Smalling

13. Ben Foster

14. Jordan Henderson

15. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain

16. Phil Jones

17. James Milner

18. Rickie Lambert

19. Raheem Sterling

20. Adam Lallana

21. Ross Barkley

22. Fraser Forster

23. Luke Shaw

Join the Discussion