Drag Queen Conchita Wurst Takes Austria to the 'Eurovision 2014' finals

See the list of twenty-six countries who will compete in Copenhagen on May 10.
By on

The results are in! At the conclusion of the second semi-final leg of the "2014 Eurovision Song Contest," the air was thick with anticipation as the winners were announced.

Ten acts will go through from each of the semi-final sessions and they will join six others who are automatically qualified for the finals to complete the twenty-six nation roster. The finals will be held on Saturday, May 10, 2014 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

The contest was not without controversy this year as the crowd loudly showed their disapproval by booing Russian contestants, the Tolmachevy twins.  They eventually went through along with Ukrainian contestant Mariya Yaremchuk, whose country's current political situation is believed to be the reason for booing the Russians.  Both countries made it to the finals along with other semi-finalists from Montenegro, Hungary, Armenia, Azerbaijan, San Marino, Sweden, Netherlands and Iceland.

The second semi-final did not have any antagonistic incidents despite online protests against Austria's drag queen contestant, Conchita Wurst.

The winners were announced at the end of the show and a long pause before announcing the last slot prompted the crowd to loudly cheer Wurst's name. In the end, the overwhelming support for the transvestite contestant saw him/her through to the finals. Austria will be joined in the finals by other winning semi-finalists Malta, Norway, Poland, Finland, Belarus, Switzerland, Greece, Slovenia and Romania.

Last year's winner, Denmark, is guaranteed a place, along with the other five nations labelled as the "big five" who financially support the organizers of  the annual contest: Germany, France, Italy, Spain and the UK.

Join the Discussion