Chelsea FC News: Atletico will not Field In Loanee Goalkeeper against Blues, Sanctions Looming

By @IBTimesAU_Sport on

Atletico Madrid will reportedly not field in loanee goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois against Chelsea in both legs of their upcoming semi-final clash in the Champions League.

UEFA issued a statement earlier indicating that the provision in the loan contract, between the west London outfit and the Los Rojiblancos, prohibiting the Belgian stopper from taking part in matches against his mother club is "null, void and unenforceable."

However, Marca suggests that Blues boss Jose Mourinho has been spreading word that the 21-year-old "will not play in the tie," believing that Atletico will still respect their agreement in spite of the said development.

Additionally, in case of breach, the Portuguese mentor will no longer send Courtois to Madrid and will "sit him on the bench in Cech's shadow for the next two years."

If such is really the case, sanctions may be meted out by UEFA, which emphasized in their statement that any attempt to violate the rules shall be dealt with accordingly.

For more football news, follow IBTimes Sport on Twitter.

Join the Discussion