Australian Wine Wows Judges at International Wine Challenge

By @AringoYenko on

Nineteen Australian wines were awarded trophies at the recently held International Wine Challenge (IWC) in London.

For IWC Co-chairman Charles Metcalfe, Australia is unique in such a way that its wines blossom into different taste and styles.

 "Selecting our trophy winners is always a tough but hugely enjoyable part of the competition. There is always plenty of debate amongst the judges. However, one thing we all agreed on was that the trophy winners this year are truly exquisite. It is wonderful to see Australian winemakers thrive across a variety of styles," Metcalfe said in a statement.

Interestingly, a bottle of South Australian Shiraz priced at $40, Shaw + Smith,  became Australia's best red wine. The judges for the competition described it as "atypical" for its "very refined, more black pepper than blackcurrant, a gorgeous warm climate style, black cherry, damson and blueberry. Fine grained tannins with lovely crisp acidity."

"It's fantastic the international judges are recognising and excited about the new-wave of Australian red wines coming out cool-climate regions like the Adelaide Hills," Shaw + Smith co-founder Michael Hill Smith said.

For the white wine category, the Robert Bowen 2011 chardonnay by Domaines and Vineyards from Western Australia's Margaret River region got the trophy. The wine got the judges' approval for being "complex nose, smoky bacon, spicy oak, fresh apple and orchard fruit. Palate is invitingly fresh with richness and well integrated wood. Creamy, buttery texture, offset by fine acidity."

The Morris Old Premium Rare Liqueur Tokay NV Muscat got the prize for Australian Fortified trophy.

The Tasmania-based House of Arras was awarded the Australian Sparkling trophy for its 2004 Grand Vintage.

Wynns Black Label Shiraz 2010 received the South Australian Shiraz trophy and the Wynns Coonawarra Estate Riddoch Cabernet Sauvignon 2010 received the Australian Cabernet trophy.

Australia had also made a record first in the competition as the Sparkling Squid Ink NV Sparkling Shiraz was singled out for a trophy.

Additionally, in the whites category, the McGuigan Shortlist 2007 received the trophy for Australian Semillon and the Australian Riesling trophy was awarded to the Pewsey Vale The Contours Museum Reserve 2003.

From these winners, the Champion wines will be chosen. The awarding will happen on July 16 at Grosvenor, House Hotel, Park Lane London.

Join the Discussion