Total Lunar Eclipse 2014: Stunning Images of the Rare ‘Blood Moon’ [PHOTOS]

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0

By Parismita Goswami | April 15, 2014 10:23 PM EST

A combination photo shows the moon during a total lunar eclipse as seen from Mexico City (Reuters)
A combination photo shows the moon during a total lunar eclipse as seen from Mexico City (Reuters)

Sky watchers could catch a glimpse of the stunning 'Blood Moon' as the Earth shadow passes the Moon, giving it a rare red hue, on Tuesday.

The first eclipse of 2014 was clearly visible in most parts of North America, Latin America and the Caribbean. Residents with their telescopes, binoculars and cellphones could watch the moon appear reddish and change color in different phases between 2 am EDT (6 am GMT and 11:30 am IST) and 4:30 am EDT (8:30 am GMT and 2:00 pm IST)

In Los Angeles, the view of the total lunar eclipse attracted thousands to the Griffith Observatory. People spread blankets in the open air to take a glimpse from dozens of telescopes arranged for the public to watch the rare event.

"It's energizing. Look around. Everybody is here to see something rare and live. Everyone is always looking down at their phones, their iPads" CNN quoted Gene Ireland, a middle school astronomy teacher.

"We want them looking up. Looking up, you see a whole different world. Getting away from the cities and traffic, and the sky is just beautiful." He added.

The moon was fully eclipsed from 3:06 am EDT (7:06 am GMT or 12:36 pm IST), for over 75 minutes.

However, sky gazers in most of Europe, Africa, Asia and Middle East were not fortunate enough to watch the exclusive event as the eclipse occurred after moonset.

For people who missed the rare event on Tuesday, have the opportunity to observe the next blood moon of the year on 8 October. The remaining two blood moons over the next 18 months are expected to occur on 4 April and 28 September 2015.

Check for more images of the 'Blood Moon' viewed from different parts of the World.

The moon is seen at the start of a total lunar eclipse that will turn the moon red over Buenos Aires (Reuters)
The moon is seen at the start of a total lunar eclipse that will turn the moon red over Buenos Aires (Reuters)
The partial lunar eclipse is seen atop an antenna installed on the roof of a high-rise building in Tokyo (Reuters)The partial lunar eclipse is seen atop an antenna installed on the roof of a high-rise building in Tokyo (Reuters)
A shadow falls on the moon as it undergoes a total lunar eclipse as seen from Mexico City (Reuters)
A shadow falls on the moon as it undergoes a total lunar eclipse as seen from Mexico City (Reuters)
The moon is seen during a total lunar eclipse in Chosica (Reuters)
The moon is seen during a total lunar eclipse in Chosica (Reuters)
The moon is shown in eclipse from Los Angeles (Reuters)
The moon is shown in eclipse from Los Angeles (Reuters)

(Ed: AJ)

To contact the editor, e-mail:

1 2 3 4 5 6
(Photo: / )
A combination photo shows the moon during a total lunar eclipse as seen from Mexico City (Reuters)
(Photo: / )
The moon is seen at the start of a total lunar eclipse that will turn the moon red over Buenos Aires (Reuters)
(Photo: / )
The partial lunar eclipse is seen atop an antenna installed on the roof of a high-rise building in Tokyo (Reuters)
(Photo: / )
The moon is seen during a total lunar eclipse in Chosica (Reuters)
(Photo: / )
A shadow falls on the moon as it undergoes a total lunar eclipse as seen from Mexico City (Reuters)
(Photo: / )
The moon is shown in eclipse from Los Angeles (Reuters)
  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0
This article is copyrighted by IBTimes.co.in, the business news leader

Join the Conversation

IBTimes TV
E-Newsletters

We value your privacy. Your email address will not be shared.