Lok Sabha Elections 2014: Polling Begins in Assam, Manipur

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0

By Rama Mohan | April 6, 2014 7:10 PM EST

The first part of the nine-phase polling for India's Lok Sabha election 2014, along with the simultaneous elections to assemblies in a few states, will begin on 7 April, 2014. Assam and Manipur will go to polls on Monday, 7 April. The elections are scheduled from 7 April to 12 May. Counting of votes will be on 16 May.

Indian Parliament (Reuters)

In this Lok Sabha election, BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is favoured over the ruling Congress-led United Progress Alliance (UPA), according to some pre-poll surveys. BJP's Narendra Modi was named as the prime ministerial candidate and he has been campaigning rigorously, seeking clear majority for the alliance. 

Modi, projecting Gujarat's development under his three-term tenure as Chief Minister, is focusing on the country's economy and development in his campaign. Senior BJP leader LK Advani is also backing Modi and says if he (Modi) becomes the next Prime Minister, he will implement the Gujarat model of development throughout the country.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi and her son and party vice president Rahul Gandhi are also canvassing countrywide. Both are attacking BJP's "divisive" politics and the 2002 communal riots in Gujarat, when Modi was the CM.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is a new entrant in this general election. AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal is also campaigning nationwide on the plank of the party's fight against corruption.

Apart from Congress, BJP and AAP, regional parties like AIADMK and DMK in Tamil Nadu, TDP, TRS and YSRCP in Andhra Pradesh, Trinamool Congress in West Bengal, Bodoland Peoples Front, Asom Gana Parishad, Janata Dal (United), RJD and Lok Janashakti Party in Bihar are also contesting. 

On Monday, 7 April, five constituencies in Assam and one constituency in Manipur will go to polls. The five constituencies in Assam are Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Tripura West constituency. In these constituencies, campaigning had come to an end on Sunday and candidates were seen doing door-to-door canvassing.   

Following is the state-wise polling schedule during April and May 2014. 

Andhra Pradesh: 30 April, 7 May 
Arunachal Pradesh: 9 April 
Assam: 7, 12, 24 April 
Bihar: 10, 17, 24, 30, April and 7, 12 May 
Chhattisgarh: 10, 17, 24 April 
Goa: 17 April 
Gujarat: 30 April 
Haryana: 10 April 
Himachal Pradesh: 7 May
Jammu and Kashmir: 10, 17, 24, 30 April and 7 May 
Jharkhand: 10, 17, 24  April 
Karnataka: 17 April 
Kerala: 10 April 
Madhya Pradesh:10, 17, 24 April 
Maharashtra: 10, 17, 24 April 
Manipur: 9, 17 April 
Meghalaya: 9 April 
Mizoram: 9 April 
Nagaland: 9 April 
Odisha: 10, 17 April 
Punjab: 30 April 
Rajasthan: 17, 24 April 
Sikkim: 12 April 
Tamil Nadu: 24 April 
Tripura: 7, 12 April 
Uttar Pradesh: 10, 17, 24, 30, April and 7, 12 May 
Uttarakhand: 7 May 
West Bengal: 17, 24, 30 April and 7, 12 May 
Andaman and Nicobar Islands: 10 April 
Chandigarh: 10 April 
Dadra and Nagar Haveli: 30 April 
Daman and Diu: 30 April 
Lakshadweep: 10 April 
NCT/Delhi: 10 April 
Puducherry: 24 April

To report problems or to leave feedback about this article, e-mail:

To contact the editor, e-mail:

(Photo: Reuters / )
Indian Parliament (Reuters)
  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0
This article is copyrighted by IBTimes.co.in, the business news leader

Join the Conversation

IBTimes TV

We value your privacy. Your email address will not be shared.