Samsung Unpacked 2014 Live Stream: Watch Galaxy S5 Launch Live Online

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0

By Rohit KVN | February 23, 2014 11:59 PM EST

The much-anticipated smartphone of the year, Samsung Galaxy S5, is all set to make a grand debut in a few hours time at the company's 'Samsung Unpacked 2014 Episode 1', 24 February in Barcelona.

Samsung Tomorrow
Samsung fans residing in other corners of the world need not feel disheartened to miss the unveiling program as South Korean will be streaming live webcast of the event online.

Related Articles

Samsung fans residing in the other parts of the world need not feel disheartened about missing the unveiling program, as the South Korean company will be streaming live webcast of the event online, unlike archrivals Apple who chooses to launch products at closed events.

The 'Samsung Unpacked 2014 Episode 1' event is scheduled to take place at the 'Centre Convencions Internacional Barcelona' around 20:00 CET (12:30 AM IST, 25 February in India). The event will be streamed live on Samsung UK site (Click Here) and the company's official blog Samsung Tomorrow (Click Here) as well as the official YouTube channel (Click Here).

Set your clocks for Samsung Galaxy S5 launch live coverage:

Ottawa: 14:00 EST, 24 February 

New York City: 14:00 EST, 24 February

Los Angeles: 11:00 PST, 24 February

London: 19:00 GMT, 24 February

Paris: 20:00 CET, 24 February

Berlin: 20:00 CET, 24 February

Johannesburg: 21:00 SAST, 24 February

Abu Dhabi: 23:00 GST, 24 February

Moscow: 23:00 MSK, 24 February

Islamabad: 00:00 PKT, 25 February

New Delhi: 00:30 IST, 25 February

Jakarta: 02:00 WIB, 25 February

Beijing: 03:00 CST, 25 February

Hong Kong: 03:00 HKT, 25 February

Singapore: 03:00 SGT, 25 February

Seoul: 04:00 KST, 25 February

Canberra: 06:00 AEDT, 25 February

To further intensify the excitement among the fans, Samsung has released tantalizing teaser video, giving away some hints on what's in store in the upcoming smartphone.

Check out the official teaser video here:

Highlights of the Samsung Unpacked 2014 Episode 1 event:

Tomorrow's event is all but certain to witness the launch of the fifth generation Galaxy S smartphone. But besides the new flagship smartphone, the company is also slated to showcase the Galaxy Gear 2, Gear 2 Neo smartwatches (specifications officially announced), a fitness band, tentatively titled as Galaxy Gear Fit, as well as three Galaxy Tab 4 series slates.

In 2013's Unpacked events, Samsung pulled off some glamorous theatrics (some called it a bit sexist though). This time too, going by the teaser video titled 'The Next GALAXY', lucky invitees holding the gate passes for the Barcelona event can expect a wild ride.

Samsung Galaxy S5: What we Know So Far

As per numerous reports, Samsung Galaxy S5 is said to come in two variants: one premium model with suffix 'Prime' boasting QHD (aka 2K) 2560x1440p resolution display having pixel density of more than 560 ppi (pixels per inch), where as normal standard model with full HD (1920x1080p) screen with 440 plus ppi.

Inside, it is said to pack Snapdragon 805 chipset/64-bit architecture based Exynos Infinity (depending on the market), 3GB RAM, 32GB/64GB inbuilt storage, 16-megapixel camera (with ISOCELL technology) and a 3200 mAh battery.

Special features include finger-print sensor (like Touch-ID in Apple iPhone 5S), multi-hovering technology, head-movement tracking sensors, waterproof and dust-resistant certifications.

[Also read: Samsung Galaxy S5 Final Roundup; Expected Features and Price Details]

Galaxy Gear 2 and Gear 2 Neo: What we Know so Far

Well, just hours ago, Samsung revealed the specifications of both these devices along with snapshots.

Galaxy Gear 2 flaunts a 1.63-inch Super AMOLED display with 320x320p resolution and runs on Samsung's proprietary Tizen operating system, powered by 1.0-GHz dual-core processor with 512MB RAM and 4GB inbuilt memory.

Other notable features include 2.0-megapixel camera in the smartwatch module (an improvement over its predecessor which had camera in the strap), dust and water-resistant IP67 certifications, control TV (featuring IrLED sensor) and personal fitness coaching via value-added applications like Exercise (comes with Standalone mode and Companion mode), Pedometer along with Heart Rate sensor, Sleep and Stress app (needs to be downloaded separately).

On the other hand, Galaxy Gear 2 Neo packs pretty much the same specifications seen inside the Gear 2, sans a one key feature - camera.

Galaxy Gear Fit: What we Know so Far

Rumors about Galaxy Fit surfaced online only a few days ago; this fitness tracking band is said to come with a flexible display and will check users' exercise routine with apps like pedometer, sleep monitor and would allow users' health status to be shared in social networks.

Galaxy Tab 4 Series Slates: What we know so Far

A couple of weeks ago, three Galaxy Tab 4 series slates specifications got leaked in the media, leading many to believe the devices would be launched some time soon. With Samsung Unpacked event and MWC (Mobile World Congress) 2014 kicking off on the same day, we might see the tablets making debut in either one of the program.

Galaxy Tab 4 series is reported to come in three models - one 7.0-inch, one 8.0-inch and the other 10.1-inch. All devices fall in the mid-range segment.

Up first, smallest among the three devices, Galaxy Tab 4 7.0, codenamed 'Degas', is said to sport a low-resolution WXGA (1280x800p) TFT LCD screen and run on the latest Android v4.4 KitKat powered by 1.2GHz quad-core processor with 1GB RAM, 8GB inbuilt memory (expandable up to 64). It is also expected to flaunt a 3.0-megapixel main camera and 1.3-megapixel front camera.

On the other hand, 8.0-inch (aka Millet) and 10.1-inch (aka Matisse) feature pretty much pack the same display resolutions, CPU, RAM, storage and connectivity features seen on the smaller model, sans the size, camera and battery specifications.

[Also read: Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 series Slates Specifications Leak]

To contact the editor, e-mail:

(Photo: Samsung Tomorrow / )
Samsung fans residing in other corners of the world need not feel disheartened to miss the unveiling program as South Korean will be streaming live webcast of the event online.
  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0
This article is copyrighted by IBTimes.co.in, the business news leader

Join the Conversation

IBTimes TV
E-Newsletters

We value your privacy. Your email address will not be shared.