New Year 2014: Where to Watch NASA’s New Year’s Greetings from Space

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0

By Floyd Allen | December 31, 2013 7:58 PM EST

What a better way to greet the New Year from space? NASA astronauts will be welcoming 2014 from space and revelers at the New York’s Time Square will have the rare chance to watch the greetings from space.

According to the PR Newswire, a video will be shown in from space by astronaut Mike Massimino. The video features Expedition 36 flight engineer Karen Nyberg who returned from space in November.

The short clip also features the three more astronauts who are now on board the space station, including Rick Mastracchio and Mike Hopkins. Joining them is Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency’s Koichi Wakata.

The New Year countdown will be shown on New Year’s eve through Toshiba Vision screen positioned on top of One Times Square from 6 p.m. to 12:15 a.m. EST. The crowd will not miss the greetings from space as it will be played below the New Year countdown ball.

Massimo, who is assigned to introduce the video will be welcomed on stage at 9:47 p.m by Eddie Temistokle, the senior manager of Toshiba America Inc’s corporate communications and corporate social responsibility division, according to PR Newswire.

In a related news, space station astronauts have also completed a Christmas Eve spacewalk, making some repairs to a disabled cooling system. Braving the “mini-blizzard” of noxious ammonia as they came out in new pump, the astronauts were ordered to “revive a critical cooling loop” at the International Space Station.

The task was successfully undertaken by Mastracchio and Hopkins, who both succeeded in restoring the cooling system and other back up equipment.

"It's the best Christmas ever," the Sydney Morning Herald quoted Mission Control as radioing while monitoring the 7½-hour spacewalk.

"Merry Christmas to everybody," said Hopkins, noted SMH, before adding. "It took a couple weeks to get her done, but we got it."

Mastracchio, Hopkins and Wakate are part of the space crew who are currently orbiting the space. With them are Oleg Kotov, Mikhail Tyurin and Sergey Ryazanski from the Russian Federal Space Agency.

To report problems or to leave feedback about this article, e-mail:

To contact the editor, e-mail:

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0
This article is copyrighted by, the business news leader

Join the Conversation

IBTimes TV

We value your privacy. Your email address will not be shared.