Andy Murray Comeback Three Months after Back Surgery at the Abu Dhabi Mubadala World Tennis Championship

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0

By Rachelle Corpuz | December 27, 2013 3:51 AM EST

Three months after undergoing back surgery, British No. 1 Andy Murray will return to the tennis court to compete in Abu Dhabi. Murray has not played since September, but he will compete in the Mubadala World Tennis Championship, as reported by The Mirror. The tournament will run from Dec 26 to Dec. 28.

The said tennis event in Abu Dhabi will also feature the top 2 male tennis players in the world, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic, alongside World No. 3, 8, and 10 players David Ferrer, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, and Stanislas Wawrinka, respectively. According to the official Web site of the tournament, the current lineup of players is the strongest that has the play-offs has ever seen.

Murray revealed that he is not expecting anything due to the fact that he has just recovered from an injury. His main concern is still his overall wellbeing. "My focus is to try and be healthy," Murray told The Mirror. "Hopefully, results will come if I'm 100 percent fit," he added.

Murray is wise in taking it slowly and one step one at a time. "Going to try and play points today for the first time since surgery #rusty," he wrote on Twitter on Dec. 4.

The British athlete, who currently ranks fourth in the world, also said that he can't set his goals for the 2014 season yet. "My training has gone very well but until the time you play matches, you don't know how good your body is," said Murray. He wants to discover what his weaknesses are, at the moment, because he is aware that other players would likely find ways to take advantage of them. Nonetheless, Murray's fans can expect that their tennis icon will do the best that he can in all his upcoming matches.

The Mubadala World Tennis Championship is a tennis event that is annually held at the Abu Dhabi International Tennis Complex. Murray won the inaugural tennis championship in January 2009 after defeating Rafael Nadal in the finals. The past winners of the tournament include Nadal, who won in 2010 and 2011 (Jan.) and Novak Djokovic, who took home the trophy in 2011 (Dec.) and 2012.

To contact the editor, e-mail:

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0
This article is copyrighted by, the business news leader

Join the Conversation

IBTimes TV

We value your privacy. Your email address will not be shared.