Five Things You Need To Know Before Listening to Justin Biebers’ ‘Journals’

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0

By Riza Ornos | December 24, 2013 3:54 PM EST

Pop sensation Justin Bieber finally released his new album "Journals" after months of teasing fans by unleashing one new song every Monday for 10 straight weeks since October. Bieber delivered his Christmas present to his fans with a red bow on Monday, Dec. 23, as he released the new album in iTunes including the 10 songs he released every week.

Here are the five things you need to know about "Journals" before listening.

1. The "Music Mondays" project has five new tracks, "One Life," "Backpack," "What's Hatnin'," 'Swap It Out" and "Memphis." Compared to his last album "Believe," "Journals" is more contemplative and R&B-driven and the singer chose not to have any singles so fans can plunge into listening to all 15 tracks.

2. In his new album, the teenage superstar invited both old and new friends to collaborate with him including Big Sean and Diplo on "Memphis," Chance the Rapper on "Confident," R. Kelly on "PYD," Future on "What's Hatnin'," and Lil Wayne on "Backpack."

3. Thanks to his daring and high-profile collaborations, "Journals" boasts some of the singer's most revealing lyrics to date. Most of his songs are from the standpoint of a brutal breakup survivor which all of us can relate. "Heartbreak" talks about defending his intentions over buttery production, while "Roller Coaster" talks about a sad ending of an affair. "I realized my fans want to know truly what's in my heart in my heart, and I just wanted to share with them. And I wanted them to know, word for word, what I was feeling at that moment," says Bieber as he told MTV News how difficult it is to feel vulnerable.

4. The album also includes a music video but not all clips have one, plus a theatrical trailer for his concert documentary "Believe." But no only that, "Journals" also features the Guatemala Pencils Of Promise Video Journal Video, a documentary that highlights Bieber's philanthropic side.

5. Before unveiling "Journals" there are talks about the singer's retirement, maybe not a full retirement but he is going to take some time off. But before he will take the much needed "me time," the singer ended it by saying: "Look out for something special coming in the New Year."

To contact the editor, e-mail:

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0
This article is copyrighted by, the business news leader

Join the Conversation

IBTimes TV

We value your privacy. Your email address will not be shared.