SAG Award Nods Honor 'Slave,' Snub Redford’s ‘All Is Lost’

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0

By Riza Ornos | December 12, 2013 5:08 PM EST

The 20th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards nominations were announced Wednesday morning and "12 Years a Slave" leads the nominees with four nominations including Best Actor for Chewitel Ejiofor. The prestigious award snubs Robert Redford's "All Is Lost" including the best ensemble of "Captain Philips," "Inside Llewyn Davis," and Martin Scorsese's "The Wolf of Wall Street."

This year has been a competitive season for films and TV shows and for SAG awards a number of 2013 movies and TV shows were recognized for their efforts. "Slave" leading actor Chewitel Ejiofor leads the cast as they told the story of slavery in early America and thanks to their stellar performance the movie earned a nod for best ensemble cast.

Michael Fassbender who plays a cruel planter Edwin Epps is nominated for Best Supporting Male Actor and newcomer Lupita Nyong'o is nominated for Best Supporting Female Actor. Since its premiere, the film has earned prestigious awards including Director of the Year Award for Steve McQueen in Palm Springs International Film Festival and American Film Institute's Top Ten Films of the Year Award.

One of the leading Oscar bellwethers, SAG Awards also honored "The Butler" with three nominations including best ensemble cast. Oprah Winfrey and Oscar winner Forest Whitaker are up for Best Supporting Female Actor and Best Male Actor award.

This is the first ever nomination for Winfrey and "Slave's" Nyong'o was nominated for her performance in her very first feature film. "Captain Philip's" Barkhad Abdi, 28, was also nominated for his role as ruthless Somali pirate and "Nebraska's" June Squibb, 84, got her first SAG nomination after six decades in the business.

Other nominee includes the late James Gandolfini - who previously won three SAG awards - for supporting role in the romantic comedy "Enough Said," Tom Hanks for "Captain Phillips," Matthew McConaughey for "Dallas Buyers Club," and Julia Roberts for "August: Osage County."

The SAG Awards is scheduled on Jan. 18, 2014 live on TBS and TNT straight from the Shrine Exposition Hall in Los Angeles at 5PM PST.

To contact the editor, e-mail:

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0
This article is copyrighted by, the business news leader

Join the Conversation

IBTimes TV

We value your privacy. Your email address will not be shared.