Lea Michele Sets Date for Debut Album, Rolls Out 'Cannonball' Single [Listen]

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0

By Vanessa Francisco | December 11, 2013 4:15 PM EST

"Glee" actress Lea Michele will release her latest debut album "Louder" on March 4 and to mark this occasion, TV's Rachel Berry unveiled the album's uplifting single, "Cannonball," composed by Billboard cover star Sia Fuller.

The song's lively pop chorus features an assertive Michele, whose Broadway-developed voice is as on-point as anyone would expect. It is an upbeat, vocally stirring pop tune from the young singer. It's pleasureably unique in a crowded arena of auto-tuned Top 40 music.

"Cannonball" sings, "And now I will start living today, today, today, I closed the door, I got this new beginning, and I will fly, I'll fly like a cannonball." The album has 11 tracks, which were all recorded in 2012 with contributions from Colin Munroe, Christina Perri and Stargate. Sia Fuller wrote another ballad on the album called, "Battlefield."

Lea Michele, who has remained low profile since her boyfriend and "Glee" co-star Cory Monteith passed away in July, says her album encompasses her experiences over the past year and reveals her journey as an artist.

"There's a lot of emotion but it's also very encouraging and hopeful," said Lea. "It's about pushing forward and living your life in a way that's louder, stronger and bolder." She also expressed her excitement to share this new side of her with fans.

"I was scared to death I was losing my mind," sings Lea Michele her new single, Cannonball. "I couldn't close my eyes, I was pacing all night. I think I found my light at the end of the tunnel. I couldn't find the truth, I was going under. But I won't hide inside, I gotta get out."

Listen to the full song here:

Source: YouTube.com/GLEEcaminoalafama1

Fans can now pre-order Lea's new album, "Louder" beginning on Dec. 10 on iTunes. They will receive an instant download for the song, "Cannonball." Lea will perform the song on "The Ellen DeGeneres Show" on Dec. 12.

"Louder" Tracklist:
1. Cannonball
2. On My Way
3. Burn with You
4. Battlefield
5. You're Mine
6. Thousand Needles
7. Louder
8. Cue the Rain
9. Don't Let Go
10. Empty Handed
11. If You Say So

To contact the editor, e-mail:

  • Rate this Story
  • 0
  • 0
This article is copyrighted by IBTimes.com.au, the business news leader

Join the Conversation

IBTimes TV

We value your privacy. Your email address will not be shared.