‘American Horror Story’ Season 4 ‘Freak Show’ Update: Who is Returning in New Season?

By on

The fourth season of FX's horror anthology series, "American Horror Story", sub-titled "Freak Show," will see the return of Gabourey Sidibe, perhaps to play a performer in the freak show. In the last edition, "American Horror Story-Coven," the actress portrayed the role of a confused, harmless witch, Queenie.

"American Horror Story-Freak Show" features one of the last freak shows in the U.S. This freak show, set in 1950, is managed by Jennifer Lange's character, a German-expat. Ryan Murphy, co-creator of "American Horror Story," had said in an interview that Lange's character will be like Marlene Dietrich, a German actress and singer. The actress has been working on her German accent to play this role.  

In addition to Lange and Sidibe, the actors who are returning for season four are: Sarah Paulson, Emma Roberts, Kathy Bates, Evan Peters, Roberts, O'Hare, Jamie Brewer and Frances Conroy. Murphy had indicated that some actors from season one and season two are likely to get cast in season 4. Paulson had said in an interview that she is learning a new skill for her new role in "American Horror Story."

The new addition to the cast list is veteran actor Michael Chiklis. He has been roped to play ex-husband of Kathy Bates' character and the father of Evan Peters' character.

Talking about the upcoming season, Angela Bassett said to E! Online that Lange's character has "rescued all these different individuals. It's the end of that era, of the freak show, and we'll do anything to keep our business going."

The fourth story of the horror series is set in Jupiter, Florida.  The shooting, however, will take place in New Orleans. Murphy had said at PaleyFest, as quoted by TV Guide, "The thing we're working on now is the opposite of what we did last year. It's not a circus and it's not a carnival. It's a freak show, which is very unique."

"American Horror Story" Season 4 "Freak Show" is expected to premiere sometime in October 2014. 

Join the Discussion